Global Warming? are humans to blame?

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by hansp77, Sep 11, 2006.

?

Do you believe

1. Global Warming is occuring as a direct result of Human Activity.

106 vote(s)
    51.7%
  2. IF Gloabal Warming is occurring it is as a result of Non-Human or Natural Processes.

99 vote(s)
    48.3%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pdwiley

pdwiley Senior Member

I'm totally opposed to scientists quoting the results of models without supplying the source code for the model and the input data so it can be checked. That's utter ******** and anyone (like Boston) who accepts the results of such a model's output is a fool.

As a software designer I can assure you all that I can write code to produce any output I want and unless you have the source code with input data, you can never ever prove my model is incorrect - except by its failure to predict real-world events.

Hence my conviction that the current warming model is crap. Its ability to predict real-world events is very poor.

Now I'll get back to processing the dissolved oxygen data.... found a bug in my code (situation normal there).

PDW

1 person likes this.
  2. CatBuilder

CatBuilder Previous Member

As both a former scientist (who programmed in IDL to process my data at NASA after using MatLab to develop the models) and then a computer programmer (who programmed a whole lot of crap in C++ and JAVA), I agree.

However, it should be known that the source code is indeed available for any scientific programming upon request.

All aspects of research are available to the folks doing peer reviews, including any source code. It's an open community, not a political one. Scientific progress takes place in a way that is very similar to open source software development.