Flying Cloud

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by Greg Steckler, May 11, 2007.

1. Greg Steckler

Greg Steckler 3D designer

Howdy, I'm a newbie here with a question/situation I'm not sure where to post so I'll do it here and the webmaster can move it where it belongs and TIA.

Donald Gunn Ross III (1st cousin, 4 times removed to Donald McKay) wants to build a faithful modern day copy of his ancestor's great ship Flying Cloud. My aspirations are a bit more modest....I want to build a virtual model of the Flying Cloud in Architectural Desktop/3D Studio Max software. I understand the original plans are at MIT. My question is do you know of anyone who has done this before? Built a computer generated model of this great ship?
    Any advice, direction would be appreciated.

(And after FC, lets do Seawitch, Red Jacket, Rainbow, etc. Anyone need a CG model?)

2. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

What type of model are you looking for...

100% completely accurate with internals or a minimal poly external only model with textures?

They are approached very differently.

1 person likes this.
  3. Greg Steckler

Probably both, jehardiman. Clipper ships just fascinate me. I am reading Ross's Era of the Clipperships and find it absorbing to say the least. I have experience in ADT and in our small firm we have an excellent 3D max guy. But if the work is already done....hey I'd like to see it. This is for a personal project of mine.

4. SeaSpark

SeaSpark -

Book on dutch clippers.

The book "Nederlandse clippers" (Dutch clippers) was recently published, it contains many images and lines plans of Dutch build clippers. These images were generated from accurate 3D models and took years to develop.

Most of these were smaller than Flying Cloud but one or two have somewhat similar lines and would be a good starting point.

(dutch) http://www.uitgeverijvanwijnen.nl/result-titel.asp?ISBN=9789051942675

Contact details: