is this $39 Bahco axe cast iron or counterfeit?

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by Squidly-Diddly, Apr 19, 2016.

1. Squidly-Diddly

Squidly-Diddly Senior Member

Or both?

Bought online from respectable UK based retailer of good quality tools.

Sure doesn't say "Made in Sweden" anywhere on the axe or in the ad.

Is it cast iron and is that now good for axes???

Kinda looks cast with porous surface and flash as shown in pic....48

Cutting edge also noticeably lop sided as shown in pic, one side is more than twice the other at the edge .....59

Does pic.....40 show two mold inlet circles on the top of the axe head?

What gives?

I've seen some pretty good looking counterfeit Channel Locks, Vise Grips etc at Flea Markets. But this axe just looks "funny".http://www.ebay.com/itm/Bahco-HFGPS-0-7-400FG-Fibreglass-Hatchet-/300767501262

Also seems very unbalanced. I'm a hammer swinging carpenter, not a axe-man, so either I know what a balanced club is, or I don't know squat and axes are a whole new ball game. But other axes in stores seem much more balanced and natural. This one seems very head heavy and I'm thinking of putting a 36" sledge handle (1.5" oval) on it and cutting it down to about 22".

Reason I got it was for general bush-craft and wanted a fiberglass handle for wet conditions (maybe some Huck Finn rafts, etc) and hammer head. Now I'm thinking of getting a 1lb regular hatchet instead.

Attached Files:

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

That's cast alright, but all of it's issues can be sorted out with a grinder and a stone. The edge was likely done very quickly and they don't care how neat or straight it might be. It just needs to be well ground and sharpened. As for balance, you can add or subtract weight as needed. If you need weight, drill a hole and fill it with lead, until the balance seems right. The best heads will be forged, not cast.

3. Squidly-Diddly